RSS Feed

So…there’s a lot of stuff going on in Austin

Bruce Springsteen - 2012 SXSW Music, Film + Interactive Festival

In nigh on 2 days, South by Southwest, one of the country’s biggest film and music conferences/festivals/clusterf***s, is kicking off in Austin, Texas, where I am conveniently living. When I first realized that I was moving to the city that South by Southwest takes place in, I was like, “Aw yeah, I’m gonna save all my money by eating only air and be a concert VIP!” Then I looked at how much wristbands cost, looked at my most recent pay stub, looked longingly back at the price of the wristbands, and allowed a single tear to drift down my cheek. Then I found out that there are HUNDREDS of free events at SXSW, which is apparently what all the non-journalist people do anyway, and I was like, “Yeah, I’m back in the game!”

I have industriously RSVPed to hundreds of events and will hopefully make it to a solid handful over the course of the next week. I’ve also decided that I am going to document my experience at South by Southwest on this blog. There will obviously be some emphasis on the music itself, but because hundreds of legitimate music blogs are going to be able to cover the performances better than I can (thanks for making me look bad, NPR), I’m going to focus on the experiences of an Austin resident trying to make the most of an overwhelming amount of free events. Maybe it’ll be an educational experience for all of us. At the very least, if you’re planning to come to South by Southwest in the future, maybe you can at least learn from the mistakes that I’m bound to make.

I’m not sure yet if I’m going to blog during the festival because I don’t know if I’ll end up at home each night, or if I’ll end up on a friend’s couch, or if I’ll inexplicably end up on a Megabus to New Orleans. However, if I don’t post anything during SXSW, I’ll be sure to compile my experiences in one big article that I’ll publish later in March.

Here are 4 bands I really want to see and think that I might be able to:

  1. Alt-J
  2. Portugal. The Man
  3. Youth Lagoon
  4. Bleached

Here are 4 things that probably won’t happen, but it’ll be really cool if they do:

  1. I win a Pulitzer or even just a Webbie or something for my hard-hitting yet intimate reporting on the events of SXSW 2013.
  2. I get mistaken for a credible music journalist after fashioning myself a fake press pass on the back of an index card and am able to get into all the major shows for free, without waiting in any other lines. Lines are for fools.
  3. I have some amazing celebrity encounter with someone like Jennifer Lawrence. Maybe Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, because Silver Linings Playbook is really hot right now. We  hang out all week, maybe steal a paddleboat to take out on Town Lake, and become steadfast Facebook friends after all is said and done.
  4. I get on stage with Kendrick Lamar and he lets me rap a verse of “Backseat Freestyle”. I perform it perfectly because I’ve quietly been rehearsing in my room for months on the off-chance that such a situation should arise.

 

About Madeline Jacobson

Saturated in pop culture since 1990. Writing about it since 2012. If you want to talk to me about anything I blog about, please do! Comment on my blog, or find me on Twitter @mjacobsonwrites

Leave a Reply

