Music Video of the Week: “Hideaway” by Kiesza

I’m not quite sure why I’m calling this the music video of the week as it’s been floating around the Internet for a few months now, but it’s the music video of MY week, at least, and hopefully it’ll make you as happy as it makes me.

I think my happiness with this music video is based on 3 things:

  1. The full commitment to the ’90s in the music, costuming, and dancing (everyone starts doing the running man at one point!). I know trends are cyclical, and we’ve been getting a lot of ’80s synth pop in the last few years, and this is the next logical progression. I for one am ready for a ’90s revival, as long as we don’t go too overboard on the sexy sax (sorry, Kenny G).
  2. The generally great choreography. I’m not going to pretend I’m an expert on dance, but I have watched a lot of So You Think You Can Dance, and I know that I like watching people who are good at dancing.
  3. Kiesza. Just all of Kiesza. She’s got great energy, an amazing voice, and she’s also released a super soulful cover of Haddaway’s “What Is Love”, so in my mind that somehow makes her a triple threat. She’s apparently getting pretty big in the UK, so I hope she has similar success in the States.

Runner Up Video of the Week: “Fancy” by Iggy Azalea featuring Charli XCX

This one’s also been out for awhile, but I figured I couldn’t take about a ’90s resurrection without bringing up a video that plays loving tribute to “Clueless”, one of the greatest movies of the ’90s (fact).

 

About Madeline Jacobson

Saturated in pop culture since 1990. Writing about it since 2012. If you want to talk to me about anything I blog about, please do! Comment on my blog, or find me on Twitter @mjacobsonwrites

Leave a comment